Mermay Day 29

Just finished this painting in time for day 29. It’s an illustration of the little mermaid’s garden featuring her marble statue from Hans Christian Andersen’s fairy tale.
I knew I would likely draw something relating to The Little Mermaid story for mermay and have always liked the description of her underwater garden with the marble statue and red weeping willow and I have actually painted a small ink drawing of the same scene previously.
I found painting the underwater scene easier in this image than I did for my previous mermay illustration and I think a big help was having a background wash constituting of blues, greens, and purples, to help create some depth.
However as I am working on a time limit, I didn’t go into much detail with the garden and is plants and focused my attention more on the little mermaid and her statue.

Leave a Reply

