Wonderland: Pool of Tears

While researching the Romanov family and looking at many pictures of them I came across an image of Grand Duchess Maria in a boat in what was probably a pond on the palace grounds. I loved the image so much that I really wanted to somehow incorporate it in my work and thought that I could fit into the pool of tears scene. This was a piece of work that really started to come to life as I was working on it as I had not planned it at all and so there wasn’t much meaning behind it until I had actually finished it. I now see that the image can represent the idea of the Russian nobility being safe and protected while the peasants are constantly struggling, seen in this image as they struggle in the water while Alice is safely in her boat. Despite this, the image also has a sense of rising doom as the nobility was not safe during the actual revolution; no one was.

Leave a Reply

