First Year, Field: The Land of Lost Objects Character Designs

After deciding what objects I would be using for my story and then expanding on their characters and plots, I started to experiment with different mediums and techniques in order to decide which way to illustrate my characters and story. I experimented with ball point pen and watercolours, mono-prints, and watercolour and gouache. Out of all of these designs, I think my favourite are the watercolours and gouache paintings, simply because I think they are more effective in capturing the characters and story, but I am glad I tried different ways of working and illustrating them. With the watercolours I really struggled to paint Yvette the porcelain ballerina and so there are three different versions of her, showcasing the progress of how I altered the painting and colour.

Pen and Watercolour

Mono-prints

Watercolours

Yvette Watercolours and Gouache

Yvette 1

Yvette 2

Yvette 3

Leave a Reply

